Since their inception in 1945, the AAAS Science Journalism Awards have honored professional journalists for distinguished reporting on the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. In recognition of a generous endowment by The Kavli Foundation, the awards now are called the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, and the contest is open to journalists worldwide. The competition is open to journalists around the world.

In the 2018 edition there are two awards in each category: a Gold award worth $5,000 and a Silver award worth $3,500. The entry deadline is 1 August 2018. Entries must have been published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year: 16 July 2017 to 15 July 2018. If the submitted work is in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.

The awards program recognizes outstanding reporting for a general audience and honors individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries.

The contest is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The awards will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2019 in Washington, D.C. Travel and lodging expenses for one person are included with each award.

More information:

Este blog cuenta con la colaboración de la Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología – Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación