aaaskavliSince 1945, the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards have honored distinguished reporting on science by professional journalists. The awards, an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism, go to individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics. This year the competition is open for the first time to professional journalists from around the world.

There are 8 reporting categories in the competition:

  • Large Newspaper (circulation of 150,000 or more, daily or weekly)
  • Small Newspaper (circulation of less than 150,000, daily or weekly)
  • Magazine
  • TV – Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less)
  • TV – In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes)
  • Radio
  • Online
  • Children’s Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)

The contest accepts works appeared in print, online or on air between 1 July 2014 and 15 July 2015. Works published or broadcasted in a language other than English must provide an English translation Deadline is August 1, 2015. For questions or further information contact via email to

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) was founded in 1848, and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.

The Kavli Foundation was founded in 2000 and is dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of humanity, promoting public understanding of scientific research, and supporting scientists and their work.

Este blog cuenta con la colaboración de la Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología – Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación