On the 9th of June, at 18:30 CET, the online discussion panel “Communication and Climate Justice” will take place. This discussion panel will be held in English and is free, with registration required through this form. This panel is organised by students of the Masters in Medical, Environmental and Scientific Communication, at the Barcelona School of Management (UPF-BSM).


Political inaction surrounding the urgency of climate change has led to aggravated environmental conflicts and a climate emergency. However, climate change is not the only factor to consider in these environmental conflicts. Socioeconomic, ethical and political factors play a key role and have been continuously overlooked. Climate justice reframes the climate emergency as not solely physical or environmental, but as a sociopolitical issue.

Communication in climate justice is essential to ensure that all voices and worldviews from the different stakeholders are taken into account in order to create sustainable, effective and just solutions for the environmental conflicts.

In this discussion panel we will discuss in depth the role that communication plays in the engagement of different stakeholders in decision making processes, and the inclusion of their narratives and experiences into environmental research and policy making regarding climate justice.




Yemi Adeyeye

Yemi Adeyeye: Coordinator of Global Landscapes Forum (GLFx). PhD in multi-scalar and participatory aspects of resource governance at University of British Columbia, Canada.





Irene Iniesta

Irene Iniesta: Postdoctoral researcher at the Institut de Ciència i Tecnologia Ambientals (ICTA) of the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB), PhD in ecology and environment from the Autonomous University of Madrid.





Rowan Pybus

Rowan Pybus: Sustainable Impact Specialist, CEO and founding partner at Makhulu & Sunshine Cinema.





The discussion will be moderated by Carla Mª Drury, student of the master’s degree and future scientific communicator.


¡Register here!



Este blog cuenta con la colaboración de la Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología – Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación